We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Quickening

The Quickening

‘If you like gothic mystery, buckle up! This atmospheric read has it all’
Woman magazine

‘An historical novel dripping with menace’
Shari Lapena, author of The End of Her

***********

England, 1925. Louisa Drew lost her husband in the First World War and her six-year-old twin sons in the Spanish Flu epidemic of 1918. Newly re-married and seven months pregnant, Louisa is asked by her employer to travel to Clewer Hall in Sussex where she is to photograph the contents of the house for auction.

She learns Clewer Hall was host to an infamous séance in 1896, and that the lady of the house has asked those who gathered back then to come together once more to recreate the evening.

When a mysterious child appears on the grounds, Louisa finds herself compelled to investigate and becomes embroiled in the strange happenings of the house. Gradually, she unravels the long-held secrets of the inhabitants and what really happened thirty years before… and discovers her own fate is entwined with that of Clewer Hall’s.

For fans of The Silent Companions, The Little Stranger and The Familiars, an exquisitely crafted and compelling mystery that invites the reader in to the crumbling Clewer Hall to help unlock its secrets.

**********

‘Utterly brilliant… full of secrets and deliciously creepy’
Lisa Hall, author of The Perfect Couple

‘A spooky treat, which had me turning the pages faster and faster’
Cass Green, author of In a Cottage in a Wood

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 20th August 2020

Price: £16.99

ISBN-13: 9781409192190

Reviews

If you like gothic mystery, buckle up! This atmospheric read has it all
Woman magazine
A creepy, evocative mystery
Heat
An historical novel dripping with menace, featuring a sympathetic heroine, seances, and family secrets-there's so much to love about The Quickening!
Shari Lapena, author of The End of Her
A powerful, spine-tingling, beautifully written gothic mystery full of real, complex characters, smart, dark twists and utterly immersive historical detail.
Hayley Webster
Utterly brilliant... full of secrets and deliciously creepy, I raced through it
Lisa Hall, author of The Perfect Couple
A spooky treat, which had me turning the pages faster and faster
Cass Green, author of In a Cottage in a Wood
It's twisty and atmospheric, seriously creepy, and has an inspiring central character I was rooting for.
Cressida McLaughlin